Chinese Banjo Tunes


Yes, it is true.

Some Chinese tunes sound great on the banjo in clawhammer style. The following represents what I have done thus far.

  • Catching Loaches (instrumental) (捉泥鰍). I am also including the melody to provide some context.  Catching Loaches (Melody)
  • Our Love The lyrics of this piece are translated in a large part from a poem written during the Yuan dynasty 元朝 (1279 to 1368) . The melody was created by Pao-chen Li (1907 – 1979) to accompany his contempary Chinese version of the poem, which became popular song in Chinese speaking countries a few decades ago. My wife and I changed the ending of the poem somewhat to reflect a Christian theme, which is not present in the orginal poem or Mr Li’s version.  The orginal poem spoke of love birds being buried in the same coffin and got a little macabre near the end.  I like our version better.
6 Comments

  1. Eric Suchman said,

    July 13, 2009 at 4:31 pm

    I would really like to know the original lyrics for “Our Love”. Thanks, Eric

    • ajbadger said,

      July 16, 2009 at 11:18 am

      Eric,

      Hi! I have it in one of my books back in CA. It’s in Chinese and I do not have access to it since I am on the East coast for a while. If I find the Chinese on the website, I’ll forward it to you.

    • ajbadger said,

      July 16, 2009 at 11:23 am

      Eric,

      This is what I found. I believe these are the lyrics to the actual song.

      你儂我儂曲:李抱忱 詞:李抱忱 編:
      你儂我儂 特忒情多
      情多處 熱如火
      滄海可 堅石可爛
      此愛此情永遠不變
      把一塊泥 捻一個你
      留下笑容 使我長憶
      再用一塊 塑一個我
      長陪君旁 永伴君側
      將咱兩個 一起打破
      再將你我 用水調和
      重新和泥 重新再做
      再捻一個你 再塑一個我
      從今以後 我可以說
      我泥中有你 你泥中有我

  2. ajbadger said,

    July 14, 2009 at 4:24 am

    Eric,

    Hi!

    I have not translated the orginal beyond what I have posted here. The orginal is in written form; and although the concept of translating the whole poem into English interests me, I do not have a lot of time to do that right now. If time ever becomes available though, I will consider it. As for now most of the translation is close to the orginal.

    • Eric Suchman said,

      July 15, 2009 at 8:50 pm

      Could you direct me to where I can find the original poem?
      I thank you again,
      -Eric

  3. Eric Suchman said,

    July 16, 2009 at 7:01 pm

    Hey Thanks, I appreciate your efforts


Leave a Reply

